Anonymous Acknowledgements

thank you

– Each acknowledgement is genuine and real. They are aimed towards people who were/are in my life. The beauty of anonymity is that I can be as honest and raw as possible. It’s down to the reader to decide whether they’ve been acknowledged or not. So…

Thank you for doing everything you can for me. I can only hope that one day I will be as wonderful of a woman as you are.

Thank you for doubting me. You’ve allowed me to experience what it feels like to prove someone wrong.

Thank you for making me laugh more than anyone. Because of that, I know what it’s like to have your tummy ache from laughter and become completely absorbed in enjoying what’s happened there and then.

Thank you for calling me a slut. You’ve shown me what self-respect should look like and empowered me because of that.

Thank you for the pep talks. Your words of motivation got me through some incredibly stressful times and you made me smile when I needed to.

Thank you for ignoring me. You taught me strength and how to walk away from people that don’t have time to ask me how I am. You taught me that it means nothing to know a person for years if you have no intention of maintaining a friendship.

Thank you all for fucking me over. Several of you made me realise what I deserve and what I’m looking for. You fit neither.

Thank you for making plans with me. Nothing is better than commitment in a friendship and your effort is highly creditworthy.

Thank you for including me in your friendship group. I love creating memories with lovely people and appreciate you all very much.

Thank you for saying I’m ‘fucked up’. You acknowledged my problems before I did and now I’m viewing myself the way you did. The difference is, I’m doing something about it, so thank you for your criticism. It led me towards getting help. Do not however take any credit for the person I become; your thank you has not driven me towards help. Your thank you is for teaching me the right and wrong ways to support myself. Your way was wrong.

Thank you for rekindling our friendship. Life is far too short to lose special friends. I am very happy that you gave us a chance.

Thank you for breaking my heart. I became strong and resilient and had time to focus on myself. You taught me that I didn’t deserve to be treated the way I was and allowed me to raise my standards.

Thank you for your words of wisdom. Your inspirational words and kind messages warm my heart. Your spiritual nature inspires me.

Thank you for our memories. I miss you but I cherish every moment we sat together, chatting, laughing and watching movies and tele. Thank you for making me so proud to have been a part of your life.

Thank you for being secretly protective of me. It’s reassuring to just know that you care and have got my back.

Thank you for saying you’re proud of me. I strive to make you proud of the woman I am becoming and owe many of my successes to you.

Thank you for making a new experience so much easier. For making it less daunting and getting me through a very trying year.

Thank you for being so supportive, understanding, patient and loving with me. I appreciate every single day I have with you and feel incredibly lucky to have been blessed with you. Thank you for showing me such chivalry.

Each person that we are faced with in our own walks of life serves a purpose. You have met them for a reason, be it positive or negative. The positive is to teach you happiness and love. The negative, to teach you lessons and strength. Thank them for making them the amazing person you are today, but never give satisfaction to those who made you learn the hard way. Show them you are unbreakable. Unbreakable and completely unstoppable.

Leave a Reply

